I hated every minute of training, but I said, ‘Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.’ – Muhammad Ali

I’ve been collecting other people’s words for about a decade now, and I think it’s about time I start sharing my bounty. For the next couple weeks, I’ll be starting the week off with a quote.

I hated every minute of training, but I said, ‘Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion.’Muhammad Ali, the greatest.

Though I’m not a boxer, and likely neither are you, this was my mantra for parts of last year. This quote was at the top of my daily To Do list, one of the first things I’d see every day. When it was cold & dark & late & lonely. When the work piled up high and I thought I’d never get to sleep. It applies to anyone working on something difficult, that may not have a clear end. Maybe the idea of giving up is comforting. It’s okay to think about it. Just don’t do it. Keep at it.  Sometimes all you can do is endure. And that’s enough. Let the commitment to staying the course guide you through the rough waters.

Leave a comment, yo!

